Skip to content

Initiate “Expatriating-On-A-Shoestring” Sequence

July 14, 2012

Aaaaand here we go, tidying up the loose ends before I move to Europe.

I have never even visited Europe, I have very little money, and yet I am moving to the city of Brno, in the Czech Republic, on August 6th.

Oh, and I don’t speak Czech.

My only travel overseas has been in China, which I visited in the summer of 2010 and documented in this livejournal blog.  I hung out with a friend who has been living and working there for several years.  We rode motorcycles all over Sichuan province for a month and that’s when I really got the travel bug.  Coming back to America and working as a teacher in the public school system, I was restless and irritable.  I quit my job and ran a small recording studio for a while, which was fun but financial suicide.

I was ruined for staying in one place.

I then started casting about for some way to get back out into the wider world.  I’ve always wanted to go to Europe.  It dawned on me that I could do what my friend Alex does in China: teach English.  It’s a time-tested way for penniless Americans to get out of the States.  Hell, I’m divorced and single; my biggest responsibility is to my pet rats, so what’s stopping me?

Brewster needs a home.

I immediately started scaling back my expenses, saving what little I could, shedding my possessions, and making a plan.  I went down to Houston in February of this year to take the Cambridge CELTA, which is generally regarded as the best entry-level certification for teaching English abroad.  (It’s also the most challenging schooling I have undergone.  Not for the easily discouraged.)  I stayed with friends in Houston for a month while I took the course, then did a bit of shuttling around between states, picking up my remaining possessions in the midwest and dragging them down to the Austin area, where my mother lives, and where my music gear is worth more on Craigslist.

So I now have a couple of weeks to go before I fly to Prague, whereupon I will take the bus to Brno, which my oh-so-in-depth research tells me is as good aplace as any to find a job.  It seems that it’s just not often done that English teachers arrange European jobs in advance; you show up and that proves you’re serious.  You have your certification and that proves you can do the job.  That’s what I’ve gathered from lurking around ESL websites like Dave’s ESL CAFE, anyway.

So this blog will be about my adventures as I attempt to find a job and learn to live outside of America for the first time.  It’s something I’ve always wanted to do, long overdue.  I may be massively underplanning… we’ll see, yes?

More soon about how I will try to lay the ground for a successful move.  Hell, I’ve got like three weeks.  What could go wrong?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. ErosLane permalink
    July 14, 2012 4:58 am

    Adventure, Ho! I wish I could be more like you. You are my Hero in many regards. I will be following your adventures closely!! 😀

    • July 14, 2012 5:07 am

      It takes every stripe of fool to make this world the mess it is. Just doing my part. Love ya, buddy.

  2. Norbert Dingwall Beaver permalink
    July 14, 2012 11:35 am

    A braver man I have never known. I hope your European experiences are everything you hope for, just remember to call home and say hello to Brewster once in a while.

    • July 14, 2012 6:23 pm

      I could introduce you to some braver men. They ride on garbage trucks in downtown Austin.

      I will be sure to email Brewster a frito every day.

  3. Jeremy permalink
    July 14, 2012 5:44 pm

    David as I have lived in Europe for a year and a half now. I can say it is not easy however, it is dammed amazing to be around people and languages that are so different to keep life far from being boring!

    I love Deutsch it is difficult and needs to be very sure with the sentences you use but it is an amazing langauge. I know a lady who knows 4 languages fuently it is just such a great adventure for me personally, I like you David am hoping for work here as well we shall see if I fall on my face as well!!

    All love and bst wishes my dear friend I will be following you as well!

    • July 14, 2012 6:24 pm

      Thanks, Mr. Reagan. I will certainly be in contact with you as my travels unfold.

  4. Nathan Woodward permalink
    July 14, 2012 7:36 pm

    I’m so stoked for you man. Live the dream, and update on the regs!

Leave a Reply

