Skip to content

Whittling Away At The Mountain Of Details

July 17, 2012

Preparing to leave one’s home country, and doing it in such a way as to not have to return, is not a simple process. There are a lot of things to deal with, some large, some small, many mission-critical. There are documents to obtain, bank accounts to close and open, people to contact, and a thousand little decisions to make. In my case, scraping together a little money for the transitional period is no small feat, seeing as I’m basically, at this point, an itinerant musician with no gigs.

It may seem silly to some people, but finding a home for my pet rat was a big deal for me. I really love that little guy. I take pet ownership seriously and I did not want Brewster to experience a negative lifestyle calibration. So I was super relieved today when a good friend agreed to take him in. I know Wayne will love him, too, and I can breathe easy about Brewster’s future.

Then there’s all the stuff that accumulates throughout one’s life, no matter how stripped-down and mobile one’s lifestyle may have been in the past. I have way more stuff than I want to ship halfway around the world. Fortunately, a lot of it is worth at least some amount of money, so by selling it off on Craigslist, I can kill two birds with one stone: lifting my bank balance and lightening my load. I sold one of my big ticket items today, a very nice Larrivee acoustic guitar. I was sorry to see it go, but the kid who bought it was pretty excited and I think it, too, is going to a good home.

I also worry about whether I will be able to pick up the Czech language. The language-learning book/CD I had been using just wasn’t doing it for me. Yesterday I found a used Czech phrasebook at Half-Price books, and it makes me feel like I have a bit more to grab onto. If I can just learn to pronounce written Czech in some proximity to the way people speak it, I’ll be in much better shape. I need to work on it a little bit each day.

Another thing I fret over is where I will live while I look for a job. I had a bit of a breakthrough in that area, too, when I found that expats.cz has ads for flatshares, and that the cost of those arrangements generally appear to be quite reasonable, certainly much cheaper than even the cheapest hostel.  They’re mostly in Prague, of course, but I think I can find one in Brno.   That will stretch my limited funds and allow me to be a bit less frantic while I look for a job.

This is far from everything that is preoccupying me, but bit by bit, I’m chipping away the stone.  Which is good, because it’s a huge stone.  And I’m leaving in 20 days!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Qlewkr permalink
    July 18, 2012 1:37 am

    I bet it’s going to be awesome. See if you can find a person living in your city of choice who posts online, so you can ask them the in depth questions. Keep chipping away at your stone, you’ve come along way already.

    • July 18, 2012 1:39 am

      Good idea! I’ve been too busy to lurk much on expats.cz but I will have more time pretty soon.

Leave a Reply

