Skip to content

The Trial Of Passenger Number 13

August 9, 2012

As I am in the city that gave us Kafka, I suppose it is appropriate that I am caught in a bureaucratic moebius strip, wherein a compassionate clerk half a world away tells me that, although she knows what to do, she does not have the authority to act. (What she actually said was, “Well, in Airline World…”)

It is I who must reach the uunreachable so-and-so, who alone can authorize the simple request to forward my suitcase from the place where I, rather than the baggage location team, (if such a department really exists), have determined it went off the track.

Typing hopelessly into the roaring silence of a ‘contact us’ pop-up window seems to me to nicely update ol’ Nervous Franz’s vision, bringing it into line with our world.

Dear Sir or Madam,

I contacted the other carriers.

American Airlines says they never received my bag from United, which means that it got no further than Austin Bergstrom on 6 August. That is probably where it is now.

I have been unable to reach you by phone. Please email me to acknowledge receipt of this message.

It is very important that I retrieve my suitcase as soon as possible.

Thank you,

David Morrison

I may have to go to the airport again, something I had deeply hoped to avoid.  Oh, and I have to figure out the bus to Brno.  And I need a phone.  And a sandwich.  And clean clothes.  Hell, while I’m at it, I WANT A PONY.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Darth Beaver permalink
    August 9, 2012 9:27 am

    It’s unbelievable that a person who has the authority to pack a steel projectile full of people and farts to be fired over the oceans towards a distant land mass does not have the authority to open a door, pick up a bag and load it onto another plane.

    I bet you could get a pony quicker than it’s taking them to get you your luggage.

  2. August 9, 2012 12:23 pm

    Anything on this end I can do re missing bag, I wil be fierce tiger mom. I’ve seen little lost cities of bags shuffled into dark corners at more than one airport. You re-inventing your demo lessons or are they scanned? Love, Mom

    • August 9, 2012 7:18 pm

      The bag is waiting for me at the Czech Inn in Prague. Unfortunately, I just got to Brno. If you feeling like stopping by Prague and toting my bags to Brno, I’d much appreciate it. The scenery s nice from the train.

      I’ll buy you a beer?

      • Sibyl White permalink
        August 9, 2012 7:42 pm

        So….if you had left for Brno yesterday, it STILL would have arrived at the Inn. I’ll just lift a glass to ou from here. cheers and on to the next adventure. As your life simplifies.

      • Sibyl White permalink
        August 9, 2012 7:43 pm

        Like, would have arrived yesterday. 🙂

      • August 9, 2012 7:49 pm

        Yeah, I stayed an extra day for nothing, I guess. OTOH, I was too jet-lagged yesterday to take the train to Brno. It’s all good. I’m in Brno!

  3. August 9, 2012 1:48 pm

    caught in a bureaucratic nightmare that spans 2 continents is certainly the start of a damn fine short story. keep copious notes.

    maybe you should set up a donation site for a change of clothes and a sandwich? I’m in.

  4. August 9, 2012 1:50 pm

    you’d look silly with a pony.

  5. haemony permalink
    August 9, 2012 5:18 pm

    That has got to be so frustrating! I hope it all get straightened out soon!

  6. Jeremy permalink
    August 9, 2012 5:21 pm

    Welcome to Europe Daivd I am glad your here now, I hope someday we could meet, and you will fnd Die Bürokratie is everywhere here.

    • August 9, 2012 7:20 pm

      Glad to be here! Turns out the fault was entirely on the American end, so I’m not going to rail against Europe on this one,

  7. August 9, 2012 8:19 pm

    Sounds like you bag has arrived? Maybe? If not, give the airline a call. I thought they reimbursed up to a certain dollar amount if your bag is lost/delayed so you can get clothes, etc., up to a certain amount.

    Kafka. You certainly know my love for the K-man. If you have free time one day, I’d love a pic of his grave, or a rubbing of it (to mount & frame!), or maybe something nice from the Kafka Gift Shoppe, like a beetle paperweight or something. 😉

    • August 9, 2012 8:29 pm

      There’s a Kafka museum, no less! When I have more time and money to explore Praha, I will certainly get you a keepsake.

    • August 9, 2012 8:31 pm

      Oh, and yes, my bag is at the Czech Inn in Prague. I have to go back tomorrow and get it… an all day train ride.

  8. El Beavero permalink
    August 9, 2012 8:35 pm

    I commented this morning but I think I must have done it wrong. Oh well, I’m happy to read of your impending reunion with your luggage. I’d definitely ask about compensation, because all that money you had to spend on clothing could have been very useful.

    • August 9, 2012 9:06 pm

      I got some comments from you. I’m too tired to figure anything out. They SHOULD compensate me. Will they? Highly unlikely. Especially since I haven’t the will to badger them.

Leave a Reply

