Skip to content

The Prodigal Luggage Returns… Reluctantly

August 10, 2012

Rode the bus to Prague, no sweat.  No problem retracing my steps back to the Czech Inn from the train station.  Picked up some vegan sushi on the way.  Walked up to the desk and saw the guy who always seems to be the grownup in the room, among all the young kids working there.  He knew about my situation and handed me the key to the luggage room.  I went back there and…

WHOA, wait a minute… that’s not my suitcase.

Brought it up front and asked if this was the bag the airline had brought.  He said it was not.  We took it back and then I realized that there were cages back there, where luggage could be locked up.  (Up until now, I had only seen it scattered around the floor.)  So I looked around in the cages and nope, couldn’t find it.  He said he would make a phone call and see where the guy on duty last night might have put it.  I decided to have a beer and eat my sushi while he sorted it out.  He got busy at the counter, I tried not to obsess.  Finally he came around and asked, “Did you find it?”  So I realized I was going to have to get more involved.  We went back in there.  I rolled a huge laundry hamper away and lo and behold there was my luggage.  “Why do you search for the clean among the dirty?” it asked me.  (Preacher’s kid joke.)

My plastic bag had been removed, but it was definitely my suitcase.  It still smelled where one of Vicki’s cat sprayed it.  I thanked him, took it out to the bar and made sure everything was in there.  Yup, all there.  What, you may ask, was all the fuss about?  here’s what I recovered today:

  • Clothes: shirts, underwear, socks, belts, shorts, 2 new dress shirts still in packages.  Some nice stuff, that used to be my dad’s, for interviews.
  • Recording stuff: expensive headphones & USB recording interface, Zoom portable recorder, computer mouse.
  • Books: Czech Language book & CD, Rain by Don Paterson (poetry.)
  • About two dozen CDs, including a lot that I played on or produced.  Very important when networking with musicians or grubbing for gigs.
  • Hygiene items: deoderant, razor, floss, etc.
  • Several pairs of extra eyeglasses, recent enough to be usable if my current glasses get lost or broken.
  • Camera battery charger.  Without it, my camera is just a paperweight.
  • My grandfather’s antique wind-up wristwatch.  Big sentimental value.
  • My dad’s old London Fog raincoat.  Also huge memorabilia points.
  • My kite.

And that’s about all.  Would life have gone on without that stuff?  Yes.  But I would have lost some valuable ties to the past and some important musical tools I would have had to replace.  I would have to spend a lot of money I don’t want to spend.

So I’m happy.  The expenses I incurred were pretty small: about $30 in clothes and $21 in train tickets… that’s it, really.  I’m not going to argue with the airlines about that.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2012 12:01 am

    You got all that in ONE bag? Geesh I need you to pack for me.

  2. August 11, 2012 2:40 am

    Well done. Now go out and see the town. Enjoy the weekend, find a venue or two, locate a school or two. Spiff up your beard. Are these some of the things on your agenda? And know that I am envious of your 72 degree weather! Huge sighs of relief . Oh, Perseid meteors late Sunday–60+ shooting stars per hour toward the northeast. Love you.

    • August 11, 2012 9:46 am

      Will get out & see the city center today. Slept til 11 this morning… it’s all finally catching up with me. I feel good, though.

  3. August 11, 2012 8:36 pm

    Kissyfur wanted you to never forget him.

    • August 11, 2012 8:40 pm

      It worked. The little bastard is still stinking up my room as we speak. Also, it occurred to me that scenting is a way of marking, and when I smelled my suitcase, I knew with certainty it was the right one. The pungent wisdom of cats.

      • Sibyl White permalink
        August 11, 2012 11:12 pm

        Cats can not be bastards. Find another sensitive word, please. Signed, Ritalin.

Leave a Reply

