Skip to content

A Note On Pictures

August 11, 2012

After thinking about it for a bit, I decided that I want to keep this blog essentially a written work. Pictures will play a supporting role.  There are enough people taking pictures and most are better photographers than I am.  It would be very easy to fill it up with hundreds of pictures, but that would destroy the continuity I’m trying to craft in the narrative here, for whatever Quixotic reason. (Probably just so my life will feel like it has a point.)

Still, I know everyone wants to see lots of pictures. so what I’m going to do is post them in galleries over on google+. I will make a note when I upload a new batch, and you can go there and look at all the pictures you like.  I would have taken more, but for quite a while my battery was dead and the charger was in my lost luggage.

I’ve organized my pictures so far into these galleries:

A street in the center of Brno.

Since tomorrow is Sunday.I’ll probably wander around and take lots of pictures.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Sibyl White permalink
    August 12, 2012 12:13 am

    Pls delete former stupid entry. Love the first impressions photos. Really. So great. Keep snapping. Really.

    • August 12, 2012 4:22 pm

      No problem. Thanks for pointing out the typo. I’ll take more pictures today.

  2. Louis permalink
    August 12, 2012 2:42 pm

    I generally agree with the idea that photos are better left to professional photographers. However, it does help to see what you are referring to when you talk about some new place or pet.

    I can’t imagine your blog in China without the photos to along with every experience.

    • August 12, 2012 4:20 pm

      Good point. I will include some pictures, in support of the text, but I want to avoid just captioning photos. (I’m a little tired of the overwhelmingly visual bias of the internet.) This time around, I am actually relocating and acculturating, (rather than just passing through), so the nature of the experience will be a bit less standing around taking pictures, and a bit more learning about how things work and how people behave. Thanks for checking in, Louie!

Leave a Reply

