Skip to content

I Seek The Trousers Of Destiny

August 13, 2012

Well, I’m going to keep this brief, since I have other things to do than blog. It’s been a rather bracing day. I did not get as far as knocking on the doors of any schools, because things kept going wrong and being difficult. I hope to have something to report on that front by tomorrow evening.

I have received some new information that has forced me to accept that it’s far from a sure thing that I will find a job and get a work permit here. Basically, getting a visa is more complex than I thought, even if you get a job. I posted a thread on Dave’s ESL Cafe and the responses I got were not quite what I was expecting. (You can read it here.) All is far from lost, but I am going to have to be open to the possibility of working in another country. I contacted my friend Alex in Chengdu, China, and I’m scouring job boards for other openings. I do think this would be an exciting time to go to Burma.

I got my resume polished, (though not printed yet), got my references updated, and got a nice photo.

Why, yes, I will consider your application to employ me. I’ll get to it just as soon as I work my way through this stack of other applicants.

But I still need some damn pants. I’ve walked all over the center of the city and spent several hours searching online and I still have no earthly idea where I can find a nice pair of khaki pants.

Would you believe this is one of the search results for buying jeans in Brno? Strom Jeans. Sure, I’ll hike a couple of kilometers out to this place and see if they have a pair in my size.

Oh, and I need a belt. I just noticed my belt is pretty ratty. I never think about these things until I’m looking for a job, which I haven’t done in several years. And I guess I need a better pair of shoes, too. I’ve got some nice shirts; that’s about the only aspect of my wardrobe that doesn’t scream poetry-reading, antimaterialist, jazz musician.

Why the hell didn’t I spiff up my wardrobe while I was in Houston, when Vicki and Jeromy, who know how to dress themselves, could have decked me out in style at Value Village for like, tiny little monies?

Oh, yeah, because of the all the other things I had to do at the last minute. Dammit, I’ve never moved overseas before.  There’s a lot involved.

Well,  no sense freaking out. Either it will work out in Brno or it won’t. I completed the Cambridge CELTA, I have good references and lots of teaching experience. I like teaching and I’m pretty good at it. I’ll get a job.

Tomorrow’s another day. There’s a pair of pants out there with my name on ’em, baby. I just know it.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2012 11:12 pm

    Maybe I missed this earlier, but why did you pick Brno?

    • August 13, 2012 11:30 pm

      I wanted to be in central or eastern Europe because I’m fascinated with the region. I’d eventually like to travel around eastern Europe by motorcycle, but the places I’d like to see (Macedonia, Estonia, Latvia, Albania) are too poor to post many jobs. I thought about Budapest or Bucharest, but the posts I read by people who’ve been there were kind of scary.

      I picked the Czech Republic because of its cultural history, which is very hip compared to say, Poland. I chose Brno, the 2nd largest city, because Prague is notoriously overrun by expats. It’s expensive and hustle-bustle. Brno is regarded as more laid back, far less touristy.

      That having been said, at this point, I’m open to anyplace that will hire me and help with relocation costs. Just sent off CVs to Taiwan and Poland.

  2. August 13, 2012 11:31 pm

    Sobering? Well, good grief. However, if it can be done, though you may lose a pound or two in sweat { (:-) } just hang in there. Getting stuff affixed, stamped, certified prior to entering the country? Sheesh. But if you can land a job, then deal with a trip home and back? Those might be the realities. And if Prague works? Brno’s loss.

    • August 13, 2012 11:43 pm

      It’s very comforting to know that the house in Fulton is there as a bivouac, if need be, I’m starting to be open to other places in the world. I really can go anywhere. I’ve sent off CVs tonight to Taiwan, Poland and Oman. I mean what the hey, why not? Let’s see who bites.

  3. Robert permalink
    August 14, 2012 2:46 am

    Dave,

    Don’t forget your most marketable skill = your guitar and your singing mouth.

    • August 14, 2012 5:11 am

      Very kind of you, but I don’t know about that. Pretty hard to get a work permit as a cafe singer or busker.

      • Robert permalink
        August 15, 2012 4:33 pm

        Sorry, was thinking income in general–actually, music/guitar teacher more than busker or cafe singer…

      • August 15, 2012 5:09 pm

        Don’t be sorry, all ideas are welcome! I’ve actually considered it. The language barrier would restrict my pool of potential students tremendously and once again, there’s the visa situation. It’s possible to set up your own business here and work legally as a foreigner, but you have to show a pretty hefty bank account before they’ll let you do it. Also, there are my poor music-reading skills. I saw a flyer on the street for a guy offering guitar lessons for very reasonable rates, and he’s studying at the conservatory and all that… I was a bit intimidated.

  4. Louis permalink
    August 15, 2012 7:05 pm

    Don’t forget Alamogordo, New Mexico. They could hire you at the state blind school.

    You look so respectable in that photo above.

    • August 15, 2012 7:08 pm

      Oh, I could get a job teaching blind kids in America, no problem. The whole point is to get out of America and see the world.

Leave a Reply

