Skip to content

Persist, Persist, Persist. Also, Don’t Stop.

August 15, 2012

Today was a day of tapping at the computer until my limbs fell asleep: looking at schools’ websites, mapping them out  in the city, filling out forms, sending emails of inquiry.  The woeful tedium of this ritual is well-known to all who have hunted for a job in the computer age.  I’m trying to cultivate the art of what my father used to call stick-to-it-iveness, something at which he certainly excelled.

But I’m starting to see some pay-off.  I talked to people from two schools in Brno, and I got a very intriguing follow-up on a school in a small town in Poland, just over the Czech border.  The town is nothing much, but the school looks terrific.  It’s run by two teachers who have been in Poland for quite a few years.  I like their style of communication.  I would gladly take that job, which I saw advertised on an ESL website.  I’m nothing if not flexible.

I finally had to get out of my room for a bit, so I found a kavárna (coffee shop) with wifi, just half a kilometer from my hostel.  I don’t know where I would be without google.  I find everything, translate everything, get directions, all of it through one google service or another.  They’ve become sort of like god, just rather more responsive.

I broke down and ate a sandwich with cheese on it; it was the only vegetarian thing on the menu, and I’m pretty hungry.  I will be glad when I get settled down enough to have a kitchen of my own.  It’s pretty tough eating vegan when you do most of your cooking with an electric water carafe.  Which reminds me, I love those things.  Why don’t they have them in America?  You can boil water in seconds.  So handy and efficient.

I think my money is holding out fairly well, but I’ve been unable to check my balance, either through my credit union’s website, or through a bankomat (ATM).   That’s a bit stressing.  I’m hopeful that, after buying several necessities this week, (clothes, a phone, an adaptor plug, etc.), my rate of expenditure will slow down.  I’m going to get on Skype with my credit union in a bit.  I love being 7 hours ahead of America; as a night owl, I finally get to talk to the Surface Dwellers when we are both in our peak functioning hours.  I’ve always felt at a disadvantage when talking to business people, because I was doing it on their schedule.  Come talk to me at 2:00 in the morning, Mr. Banker, and we’ll see how well you swim in my waters.

But I digress.  It’s been a good day.  I feel like I’ve made progress.  If I can talk to every school in Brno in the next two days, I’ll have had a good first week.   Thanks everyone for following along, commenting, offering suggestions, downloading my music over at bandcamp, and just generally being supportive.

As Donna Summer put it, Ooh, I feel love.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Louis permalink
    August 15, 2012 7:00 pm

    As you might guess, i really like your referring to Google as “become sort of like god, just rather more responsive.”

    I couldn’t believe you had heard of Donna Summer . . . and even knew a song by her.

    • August 16, 2012 9:22 am

      Hey, I was a kid with a radio in the 70s. I like some disco. Never Can Say Goodbye and I Love the Nightlife are two songs that have great melodies and excellent chord changes.

  2. Donna permalink
    August 16, 2012 3:31 am

    You just keep on keeping on, my sweet Dave-Dave!!!!! I have utmost faith and confidence in you…..always, always!

  3. Norb permalink
    August 16, 2012 9:49 am

    Can you imagine having to do all that without the internet? I’m terribly flippant about how intrusive it’s presence has become in modern life, but I think you’ve proved that it is an essential tool nowadays!

    Speaking of which, do they really not have electric kettles in the US? They’re essential basics here, but I guess we need them for all our limey tea-making.

    • August 16, 2012 10:01 am

      I’m pretty sure I couldn’t have gotten even this far without the internet. It compensates amazingly well for my poor planning.

      Those kettles are available in the states, but they haven’t caught on. People mostly heat water on stoves or in microwaves. (Creative types will use a coffee pot, in a pinch.) I don’t understand why. I think maybe they have the stigma of being an energy-saving appliance. If there’s one thing America hates, it’s conserving energy.

      • August 16, 2012 1:40 pm

        I had one for awhile, and I used it a lot, but Vicki was against it. When we moved to Houston, we left it with my mom who uses it.

  4. August 16, 2012 1:41 pm

    Why can’t I like all these wonderful comments?

    Maybe I’ll break down and actually interact with others using my words instead of my clicks.

  5. August 16, 2012 5:44 pm

    One thing I’ve noticed they use a lot in Europe and Central/South America a lot is a combination washer/dryer in the same cylinder. Hasn’t seemed to have caught on in the US. Saves a lot of space and energy. I bought one many years back from a company called Thor.

    I’m interested in your escapades because I’m thinking about doing the same thing in a year or two, but moving to Poland.

    • August 16, 2012 6:19 pm

      Funny, you should mention it, I’ve been considering crossing over to Poland for my job hunt if the Czech Republic continues to underwhelm, employment-prospect-wise. (Otherwise, it’s wonderful.) I have a bit of interest coming from a school in a small town just over the Czech border. I would love to take that one.

      You would have a terrific advantage with your language skills. I came across a website you might find interesting: http://www.teachingenglishinpoland.com/.

      Stay in touch. Just think, we could have a Kurt Weill hoot night in Gdansk or Warsaw!

  6. Sibyl White permalink
    August 16, 2012 8:10 pm

    Hey, did you reach your CU? Love it about the time warp stream. Calling the states at 2 am CZ time, lovely. How is the walking in Brno at that time? Safe?

    • August 16, 2012 8:21 pm

      Brno is like most cities after dark; different areas are very different. It’s certainly not as scary as many American cities I have wandered through, but there are areas where I put on my tough city walk and give the cold shoulder to any entreaty from strangers.

      I’m fixing to call Dupaco. I’ll let you know how that goes.

  7. david jewell permalink
    August 16, 2012 9:39 pm

    it’s so exciting following your journey.

    • August 16, 2012 9:51 pm

      Thanks, DJ. When I land someplace, you must come visit. It’s so easy these days. I’m telling you. you’ll feel so at home in Europe. Even though I can’t speak the language, I just feel a connection to the place. I now you will, too.

Leave a Reply

