Skip to content

Walking Around, Drinking In The Possibilities

August 16, 2012

Well, even though the job market in Brno has not turned out to be especially heartening, I’m feeling alright about things.  I got hold of my credit union on Skype, and they assured me that there’s nothing wrong with my account; I’m just in a place where the infrastructure is not the greatest.   The computers in Iowa are not necessarily able to talk to the computers in Moravia.  They gave me my balance and I’ve got more money left than I thought.  It’s not like I’m one of the WalMart heirs, but I’m not about to be on the street, either.

I’m going to give Brno a few more days, just to make sure I’ve spoken to absolutely every single school.  (I’m paid up at my hostel through Monday.)  I’m feeling hopeful about the job in the small Polish town, but even if that doesn’t come through, I have a good feeling about Poland in general.  (Before I switched to the Czech Republic, Poland was my original destination.)  I found a great website for ESL teachers in Poland (http://www.teachingenglishinpoland.com/) and I discovered that hostels in Gdansk cost about half what they do in the Czech Republic, even here in Brno, which is much cheaper than Prague, so my money would stretch farther while I looked for a job there.  I’ve always wanted to live by the ocean and I like cold weather; I could live by the Baltic.

I also applied for a job in the Ukraine today and talked to Alex about China.  And I got a letter of reference from a former boss.  What he wrote was so gracious and generous that it genuinely brought tears to my eyes.  I’m feeling a sense of possibility, (I think the word is hope), and I like it.  I’ll be relieved when I find a job and settle in to get some traction is some particular place, but I also like this sense that something is about to happen,  even though I don’t know what.

One thing that brightens my mood is to get out and walk a few miles, which I’ve been doing every day.  Today I got in about 4 miles and saw parts of Brno I hadn’t seen yet.  I didn’t take my camera. I wanted to just… walk.  Life exists whether I capture it digitally or not.  So be aware that this blog may not paint a complete picture.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Sibyl White permalink
    August 16, 2012 10:48 pm

    Not landlocked. Now that is a coast I will start researching. Once you get your traction, I think you (and we) will probably comment how quick you managed to find a job.

  2. rich permalink
    August 17, 2012 12:12 am

    i’m at the bar across the street from my apartment reading this and enjoying hearing about your journey. i feel something close to envy but not quite. really really looking forward to coming for a visit whenever/wherever you get settled.
    also, i like your duo record with bob.
    and hey, dude to dude, how are the ladies?

    • August 17, 2012 8:15 am

      The women come in fantastic variety. They dress in all different kinds of styles. You know me, I like the dark-haired ones with the far-away eyes, but there’s something here for everyone. The language barrier is keeping me out of trouble; I’ve met a few people with smatterings of English, but no-one I could have a real conversation with.

  3. vicki lynn permalink
    August 17, 2012 4:21 am

    Your blogs, especially the hopeful ones, brighten my mood. Miss you.

    • August 17, 2012 8:54 am

      Thanks. The existence of you always brightens my mood. I miss you two. Just think how great it will be when you come to visit!

Leave a Reply

