Skip to content

Round One: So Far, So Good…

August 18, 2012

Well, to cut to the chase,  my interview went very well.  He assured me that I will proceed to the next round, which he said he doesn’t usually do until after he’s interviewed everyone.  I’ve definitely got a shot at the job.  I just hope the other interviewees are really lame.

I barely slept last night.  I prepped, (mostly on grammar presentation), until about 3:00 in the morning, then woke up early and couldn’t get back to sleep.  After a while, I gave up, made some coffee and hit the books again.  It turned out to be mostly unnecessary, since the that part of the interview was fairly brief, but it gave me something to do with my nerves, and it sure didn’t hurt.  I treated it like an in-person interview; I showered, shaved, brushed my teeth, put on deodorant, put on my nice new clothes, trimmed up the old beard, all that.

I should have my second interview in a day or two.  If they hire me, however, I won’t start working until mid-September.  There’s a chance I would have to come back to the States to apply for my visa, but they’re looking into whether I can do it from either Poland or the Czech Republic.  If I can avoid making a visa run to the states, what I would like to do is drop off most of my possessions at the school, then head up to Gdansk to idle away a couple of weeks at a hostel I found there that is so, so cheap.

They have an apartment for me, but I pay the rent.  (I’m free to find another place if I want to, but they said the other teachers have been happy with it.)  There are only 4 teachers and the guys who run the school still teach classes, which is a great sign in my book.  It’s also encouraging that both of their other teachers are returning from last year.  My actual class time would be around 25 hours a week and most classes are in the evening.  Now THAT is a schedule I can live with.  It’s like they designed it with me in mind.

If I don’t get this job, I’ve still got quite a few places to contact in Brno.  If none of those work out, I have to make a decision whether I want to go to Poland and look for work or throw my lot in with Alex in China.  The suspense is kinda killing me.  I really want this job.

Stay tuned!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. eroslane permalink
    August 18, 2012 11:59 am

    Hooray! That is most excellent news. I’m glad it went well.

    Also, sleep? What is that? I hear it is over-rated. 😉

    • August 18, 2012 1:33 pm

      I am about to enter the country of sleep. I will be within its borders for an extended period of time, where no agent of the waking nations may reach me. Or, as we say in Texas, “Ah mean, ah’m TARRED.”

  2. August 18, 2012 12:00 pm

    David, it sounds really great, a very nice fit. No mention of salary here, but with a simple life, all you really want is to save for a motorcycle. And expensive European gas. The Gdansk hostel? More info at some point. Woohoo.

  3. haemony permalink
    August 18, 2012 1:20 pm

    Yay, fingers crossed!!

  4. Julie Bratton permalink
    August 18, 2012 1:42 pm

    Fingers crossed! Poland sounds great. You’d still be in Europe. The fact that the owners were speculating about how you might get your visa is a definite sign that you’re a serious candidate. Good work, and sleep well.

    • August 18, 2012 2:26 pm

      Thanks, I hope you’re right and I think you are and I hope that’s not just wishful thinking and I think it isn’t. At least I hope so.

      Poland was my original destination. Anywhere in Europe would be fine, really. Just the thought that I may soon be able to say that I live and work in Europe makes me pretty euphoric.

  5. Norbert permalink
    August 18, 2012 2:38 pm

    I’m happy it went well, you must have impressed him if he was ready to tell you already that you were through to the next round. This all sounds very positive, I’m glad for you.

    • August 18, 2012 2:40 pm

      I just got another follow-up email. My spidey-sense is tingling. In a good way.

      Seriously, dude, I am going to BE IN EUROPE. There’s no way we’re not hanging out.

  6. david jewell permalink
    August 18, 2012 4:44 pm

    Right on! You are amazing Dmo!

    • August 18, 2012 4:46 pm

      Thanks, O my brother. We shall walk the streets of Warsaw together in heavy coats and drink strong coffee there. I have spoken!

  7. Donna permalink
    August 19, 2012 3:46 am

    Super cool news! Hoping and praying that it all goes as well as it seems to be panning out!!! I’m so happy for and proud of you, and have never doubted that things wouldn’t work out for you, even though it really takes a lot of courage to do what you have done thus far! Way to go!!! Looking forward to more good news from you! Love you so!

  8. Louis permalink
    August 19, 2012 1:48 pm

    Public transportation is supposed to be very good in Europe, so maybe you won’t need a motorcycle . . . maybe a bicycle.

    Can you get some melatonin tablets there? They have been a great help to me. The 1 mg tablets may be enough or cut the 3 mg in half. Stay away from the caffeine in any form.

    • August 19, 2012 2:12 pm

      Thanks for the suggestion, but I don’t generally have a problem with sleep. I was just nervous about the interview.

      And you’re right, the public transit here is vastly better than anything in the USA. I’d be fine with a bicycle in Zory, although you can;t ride for several months in the winter. But that’s okay, you know I love to walk.

      Not having to own a car is a definite plus in my book. (Motorcycles are different; they’re fun!) Still, my focus will be on a.) seeing if I can do the job, and b.) acclimating to life as an expat. If the job looks like something I could do for a number of years, I’ll get a motorcycle for summer trips.

Leave a Reply

