Skip to content

My First Job Offer!

August 20, 2012

Well, now, this is a nice feeling.  I just had a great interview with a company that places teachers all over the Ukraine.  It went quite well.  I really liked the interviewer; our discussion was casual, frank and wide-ranging.  She laughed when I used the word Absurdistan and said, “Yes, exactly!”

She is preparing an offer for me.  I told her I would accept or decline by the end of the week.   If Poland doesn’t come through, I think I will accept.  I would go to Kiev for training on 3 Sep., and would have to support myself until I received my first check around the 5th of October, but that should be no problem.

The Ukraine!  Imagine that.  What an adventure.  And it’s nice to feel wanted.  I really like the Czech Republic, but it just doesn’t feel like they need me here.  And the Ukraine would be much more exotic.

And here’s another thing… I’m responsible for getting myself to Kiev, which I would probably do overland.  (It’s 1200 km, or 745 miles. )  I could have a great adventure just getting there.  The idea definitely has its appeal.

A day can start out one way and end another, yeah?

UPDATE: OTOH, I could knock around Prague for two weeks, then fly to Kiev for under $300… tempting

Or, here’s another thought.  I ship most of my stuff to Kiev and just keep my guitar and a couple of clothes with me.  Go to Warsaw for a while, then fly to Kiev, which is even cheaper… like under $200.  Warsaw and then Kiev…

There are a lot more possibilities when you have a job offer than when you don’t.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. STONECIPHER permalink
    August 20, 2012 8:42 pm

    Woo Hoo! Congrats on the offer!

    • August 20, 2012 9:24 pm

      Thanks, Marcy! I think they were just impressed that I had lived in Nacogdoches. I mean, anything is easy after that.

      • STONECIPHER permalink
        August 20, 2012 9:37 pm

        Ha ha…I suppose it is! I’m sure Nacogdoches sounds really exotic to your interviewers 🙂

  2. August 20, 2012 9:16 pm

    Oh my godsky. Exotisky. Kievski. Wow. Now I know you are going to want that Sundance jacket. So proud of you, David.

    • August 20, 2012 9:23 pm

      Thanks, mom! Yeah, if I go to the Ukraine, I’ll probably need that jacket before September is out.

  3. Julie Bratton permalink
    August 20, 2012 9:45 pm

    Woo-hoo! Congratulations.

    • August 21, 2012 7:25 am

      Thanks, Julie. And just think, I won’t have to drive through hundreds of miles to cornfields to get to work.

  4. Mr. N Beaver permalink
    August 20, 2012 9:46 pm

    Congratulations! Sounds like you’re really nailing it out there, and you have all these opportunities to travel and see interesting places before you start.

    Nicely done my good man, if I had any soya milk left I would raise another glass, but I already cannonballed it celebrating your previous good news. Hmmm, might have to open a beer instead. Naughty…

    • August 20, 2012 10:00 pm

      I’m sorry that my adventures in the ESL job market have exacerbated your drinking problem vis-a-vis soya. I heartily encourage the consumption of beer as a healthy alternative.

      But then, I also encourage motorcycle jumping and quoting Quentin Crisp to soccer hooligans in the street, so, as the old Rutles song suggests, “You’d better think twice at least once more,” before listening to me.

  5. August 20, 2012 10:15 pm

    When you get a mail order bride from the Ukraine and you live there already, do they just take the bus?

  6. vicki lynn permalink
    August 21, 2012 12:13 am

    Hurrah!!!! Congrats! I’m so excited for you!!!!

    • August 21, 2012 7:28 am

      Thanks, Vicki! I can’t believe I really financed my worldwide travels by selling Twilight posters and old spatulas in your front yard.

  7. August 21, 2012 12:41 am

    Congratulations. Seems like you take to this easily. You’ll probably have so many possibilities open up that it’ll be hard to decide what to do come next year or so. Then, of course, you can write a book about the experience (perhaps you’ve already had that idea).

    • August 21, 2012 6:49 am

      Hi, Elaine! I’ve never written anything but songs and online journals, but you never know. Thanks for checking in on me here.

Leave a Reply

