Skip to content

On The Hunt For Employment & Odor-Neutralizing Chemicals

August 20, 2012

Well, today was a bit frustrating.  I didn’t hear back about Poland and I found out that I may have to move out of my hostel tomorrow, because it’s going to be all booked up with people coming for the big motorcycle race.  I don’t know if I’ll be able to find a room elsewhere in the city.  I  did talk on the phone to a nice woman from a local school, who assured me that her boss would be calling me, but he hasn’t called yet.  And I just missed a message from the people who run the schools in the Ukraine.

To deal with my nerves while waiting to hear about the Polish job, I took a good long walk across town to the TESCO, which is kind of like WalMart.

Walking out the front door of my hostel on Cejl St.

Believe it or not, google maps’ walking directions sent me through this field.  The directions were rock solid.

I forget how northerly the Czech Republic is. You get the clear, crisp air and long shadows like in the American upper midwest.

Now get ready for some real excitement: I have been researching my Czech deoderizing options, on account of that bad Mr. Kissyfur sprayed my suitcase the day I left Houston.  (It’s amazing how long that smell persists.  At least it was on the outside, and didn’t get on any of my clothes.)   It turns out that you cannot buy Febreze in the Czech Republic, which is unfortunate, since the chemical composition of Febreze is patented, and I’ve never known anything else to work as well.  There was supposedly something similar, called Jasa, at Tesco, but all I could find was really expensive carpet cleaner, and I wasn’t sure I wanted to spray that on my suitcase, so in the end, I just bought a little notebook, since I recently sent my other little notebook through the washer, along with a pen, which caused ink stains on most of my clothes, though fortunately not on my job interview clothes.  Like I said, things have been a little frustrating.  It’s got me writing run-on sentences.

This funny little guy on the left cheered me up.

But one very nice thing happened today: I got a card from my niece, Claire, and my stepmother Anne, that said, Keep going, I believe in you.  That was super great.  You know, when I was scanning all my papers before coming here, I went through my correspondence.  I found that I had tons of letters and postcards, up until around the turn of the century, when it all just stopped.  Email killed letter-writing and card-sending dead.  People rarely mail cards anymore, so when someone does, it’s extra special.  Thanks, Claire Bear and Oma!

Tomorrow’s another day.  We’ll see what happens.  I have to make a decision soon about Brno and I’m leaning very heavily toward going someplace else.  If it’s not the job in Poland, I need to decide where.

UPDATE: Just got a message from the Ukraine agency, so at least I will have had one interview today!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2012 7:09 pm

    I suggest a 50-50 mixture of vinegar and baking soda. Won’t get ink out though google can probably help there. I share the hostel move-along blues. What a bummer. What did you find? Ukraine, huh. And very very sweet your snail mail. Hugs for your days to come.

    • August 20, 2012 7:28 pm

      Good thinking, I need to google cat urine scent removal. I’m sure there’s something that will work.

      I think tomorrow will be a day for making some big decisions.

      • August 20, 2012 8:01 pm

        Yup. Perhaps head toward Zory where you have at least connected with English speakers. It does feel like time to make a run for the border.

  2. Mr. N Beaver permalink
    August 20, 2012 9:53 pm

    No Febreze? How can an entire country live like that? Well that’s that then, you must pack up immediately and move to a place which sells the correct products for removing the smell of cat pee from luggage.

    Also, we’re supermarket buddies! I go to Tesco all the time! I wouldn’t describe it as being like Wal-Mart though, because their main rival here is ASDA, which is now owned by Wal-Mart. They wouldn’t appreciate that.

    Well anyway, enough of my yakkin’ about supermarkets.

  3. August 20, 2012 10:19 pm

    ha HA! Pissyfur strikes AGAIN!!!

    Sorry man about the kissypiss. In my experience, the only true deodorizer is flame.

Leave a Reply

