Skip to content

Idling In Prague

August 22, 2012

Today I just wandered around Prague.  I walked about 5 miles.  I’m starting to understand the layout of the city; you can generally navigate by some of the larger landmarks: cathedrals, the river, the “city gates,” etc.

I had lunch at this place, which is 270 meters from my hostel. It was not bad; it was pretty much what you’d get at a similar place in San Francisco or Austin.

I know at some point I will stop noticing every building I pass by, but I really love this one. It looks like the Titanic.

(There are lots more pictures over at my google+ and facebook accounts.)

I had some email exchanges with my job about my visa.  Although there has been a bit of go ask your mother and go ask your father over the telephone between the Prague and Ostrava Polish embassies, it doesn’t look like the process will ultimately be too complex.  Tomorrow morning, I will walk to the Polish embassy; it’s 3.5 kilometers from my hostel.

I managed not to spend much money today.  The most expensive thing I bought was a poncho at a military surplus store.  I really wanted to buy a military vest with lots of zippered pockets, but I managed to restrain myself.  If I do end up backpacking around Poland for a week or two, then I’ll buy it.  I just don’t know that for sure yet.  I ate spaghetti that I made myself.  (Unfortunately, the sauce turned out to have meat in it it.  Must look more carefully next time.)

I think I’ll walk a bit more tonight, maybe stop in for a beer if I see a hospoda that looks inviting, which I’m sure I will.  There’s a huge difference between killing time when you have something to look forward to, and idling when everything is up in the air,  Knowing I have a job is such a weight off.

If I could have only one thing that would make my life better, it would be to have my friends here with me.  But that will come in time.  Right at the moment, it ain’t bad being me.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2012 11:52 pm

    I’m with you Dave!

    I’ve been inspired to keep up my B2B project. Your commitment to document everything that is happening leaves me with no excuses, and for that I thank you.

    Keep living your life. It makes me want to keep living mine!

  2. August 22, 2012 11:54 pm

    Man, that’s the best endorsement I could ever ask for. I love you, O my brother, indeed I do.

  3. eroslane permalink
    August 23, 2012 2:04 am

    If you keep looking up at every building, they’ll know you are a tourist for sure! 😀

    I think the key here is to pretend you live in Australia and simply can’t bear to look at the Opera House ONE.MORE.DAMN.TIME. 😉

    • August 23, 2012 1:06 pm

      When I’ve had to pass through the tourist part of town, the old center of the city, I’ve felt that. It’s like Disneyworld over there.

  4. Norb permalink
    August 23, 2012 10:10 am

    I too am a sucker for military things such as zippered vests. I nearly got a gas mask the other day from a surplus stall in a local market. Although it would come in handy for those times when I spend a long time in a closed room with the guys, I couldn’t justify the price tag. Guess I’ll just carry on wrapping my sock around my face.

    I’m sure that tonight’s relaxation beer will taste much better now that you have a job coming up. Enjoy! Oh, and if you see any Brits there…on behalf of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland I apologise in advance.

    • August 23, 2012 1:13 pm

      There are quite a few Brits in my hostel and on the streets, actually, including three birds on holiday from Uni. (Wait a second… birds is offensive, isn’t it? Whoops. If I knew another of your colloquialisms, I’d use that instead.) Some of the Brits I can understand perfectly well, but when a couple of them talk, it’s kinda like watching Withnail & I with the sound too low. But they’re all perfectly pleasant. Not a soccer hooligan or skinhead among them. I think hostels must draw the pleasanter sort.

      • Norb permalink
        August 23, 2012 3:17 pm

        I think you’re okay with birds, if used correctly it’s cheeky and a little teasing, especially coming from a foreigner. If I were to say it I’d be hung by my ankles from the nearest lamppost, but I’m known around these parts.

        There’s no soccer for the Brits there at the moment. If you were there a couple of months ago you would have arrived bang in the middle of the European Cup, and that would have been chaos.

        If you happen to meet one of the Brits on the stairs, just nod and say ‘Oright mate’, that’s English for ‘hello’.

Leave a Reply

