Skip to content

Packing Light

August 26, 2012

I threw out some stuff, consolidated, pared down to the essentials, and figured out what I absolutely must have while I’m backpacking Poland, for the next week or two.

It ain’t much, but will it fit in this gig bag?

My backpack, plus the clothes I’ll be wearing tomorrow. Everything else goes in the big suitcase, which stays in Rybnik while I mosey around Poland.

In fact, I had so much room in my gig bag that I packed an extra day’s underwear, socks and t-shirt.  So I’ll only have to do laundry every other day.  I’m just too bourgeois.

The only things I packed that are not strictly essential are a Joe Pass guitar method book, and a set of headphones.  Although I’m not taking my computer, I may buy an mp3 player.  I like to have music with me at all times.

But that’s it.  It will be great to drop off the big suitcase and hit the road with a light footprint for a while.  This will be the lightest I’ve ever traveled, and that’s saying something.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Nörbert permalink
    August 27, 2012 1:24 pm

    Hold on, did you remember to put the guitar in there too? I’ve forgotten to pack mine a couple of times.

    Also, you can easily put off your laundry duties for an extra couple of days by turning your undies inside out.

    • August 27, 2012 2:59 pm

      Turning the intimates wrong-side-out must be a musician thing. Either that or it’s a slob thing and musicians are slobs.

      Just checked. Got the guitar!

Leave a Reply

