Skip to content

Upsetting Typesetting: A Timetable Without Your Train On It

August 27, 2012

Just a quick note from the internet kiosk in the Katowice train station.  Finding the platform of one’s departure is not easy here.

A Polish railway timetable.

A Polish railway ticket.

A bit of helpful information that correlates my ticket with the timetable, written down for me by a Polish girl I met on the train from Prague. Without this, I would never have figured out which train to get on.

And it’s not just me; I see Poles aplenty scratching their heads and debating with one another.

UPDATE: I made my connection, met my people in Rybnik, and had a lovely evening.  Everything is good.  More soon.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2012 8:40 pm

    you’ll probably find something… somehow…

    good luck.

    • August 27, 2012 9:41 pm

      I got where I needed to go. Once again, everything worked out fine.

      • eroslane permalink
        August 28, 2012 4:34 am

        It’s just like Buckaroo Banzai lamented upon, “You know, where ever you go, there you are.” True dat!

  2. Sibyl White permalink
    August 27, 2012 9:47 pm

    It’s a live social network…what a concept.

    • August 28, 2012 6:02 am

      One day cultural archeologists will puzzle over the concept of “meatspace”, some sort of strange carbon-based networking platform.

  3. Nörbert permalink
    August 28, 2012 9:33 am

    What confuses me about the Polish language is that none of the letters which go to make up the words ever seem to feature in the pronunciation. The man who taught me how to play the guitar was Polish, but don’t ask me what his name was. I can say it, but I can’t spell it.

    Glad that you got there, I hope that it’s as great as it sounds.

    • August 28, 2012 8:02 pm

      I think the correspondence between written and spoken Polish is pretty strong, actually, it’s just that they have some letters we don’t and, more befuddling yet, some of the ones we share are used for different sounds. So Wrocław is pronounced something like Vrotswahv. Perfectly logical, just really weird to our ears.

Leave a Reply

