Skip to content

Dammit, I’m Sick

August 29, 2012

I’m afraid there’s no use pretending anymore. I’ve got a cold. At least part of my time in Warszawa is going to be spent laying around being sick. So it goes.

I got out and walked around for several hours today, but it’s not even dark yet and I’m toast, man. I bought a train ticket and some drum sticks and I managed to find some aspirin, but I could not figure out what was supposed to be cold medicine. I didn’t take my Polish-English dictionary with me today because I thought I would find a Polish phrasebook, but I was wrong about that. Everyone in Warszawa speaks a little English, but there are no written materials for English speakers anywhere.

The aspirin is different here; it fizzes like alka-seltzer and has a horrible citrus taste.  I tried to swallow one whole, and it got stuck in my throat.  I almost had to do the Heimlich Remover on my own bad self.

The hostel I’m staying in is incredibly posh. It’s more like a nice hotel than any hostel I’ve ever stayed in. And it’s dirt cheap: $15 a night, right in the center of town.

And yet I am the only guest. It’s kind of eerie, the emptiness.  I think I’ll watch Polish TV and play my guitar in the commons. I could do it in my underwear if I wanted to.  I may even feel sorry for myself.

Hell, I got a right; I’m sick, dammit.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Sibyl White permalink
    August 29, 2012 5:55 pm

    Aw, sorry. Rest, lots of good water, and the aspirin. Is chicken noodle soup a possibility? Let the vegan in you take time off, too? Hot toddy works, also.

    • August 29, 2012 7:08 pm

      I did eat one cold cut at breakfast this morning, but other than that I’ve been good. I had falafel and vegan sushi today. I would probably eat chicken soup if someone handed it to me.

  2. eroslane permalink
    August 29, 2012 6:08 pm

    You have been running hard & fast for about a month now and using up your reserves, of that I am sure. Rest, relax and get well soon!

    • August 29, 2012 7:10 pm

      Thanks, Craig. Yeah, I think I’ve pushed this old frame of mine pretty hard into the red on the bio-tachometer. There comes a time when nature calls for the check and it must be settled up.

  3. Dorrie Woodson permalink
    August 29, 2012 7:31 pm

    I DO understand. I DO wish you well …. and *I* am recovering from a SEVERE Bactrim reaction. Dammit, we’re sick!

  4. Njørbërt permalink
    August 29, 2012 7:32 pm

    Can you buy Anadin there? They contain aspirin and they’re coated so you can swallow them without having to dissolve and suffer that dreadful taste. I don’t know who came up with the idea of making them fizzle, but whoever it was needs their underpants stuffing with the damn things and hosing down, see how they like it then.

    Hope you feel better soon, but hey look on the bright side – it’s your first European illness!

    • August 29, 2012 7:53 pm

      Why, yes… that’s it! I’m not down with a common cold, I have a Continental Illness. It’s a much more sophisticated complaint.

      (Awesome Norbitudinal Scandinavianization, btw.)

      • Njørbërt permalink
        August 29, 2012 8:29 pm

        Danke schoen. It always helps to think globally.

  5. Elizabeth permalink
    August 30, 2012 12:08 pm

    Awww. Im sorry you’re sick. You have traveled a great many places and your body prolly just wants you to sit still a minute. “i’m not gonna get up” he says. I had a similar experience in a hostel in East Berlin…..only the lonely was not in a posh hostel but a former mental instituion. Apple cider vinegar…..hugs.

    • August 30, 2012 2:08 pm

      Thank you! I just took that wonder drug, the old nap, and I feel much better. Thanks for checking in on me!

  6. August 30, 2012 2:58 pm

    Straight Bourbon all day.

    You’re welcome. 🙂

Leave a Reply

