Skip to content

Lost In Warzawa

August 30, 2012

Well, I’m feeling better.  I’m not completely well, but well enough that my body isn’t going to stop me from seeing Warszawa.  I wandered around for about 5 hours today and got good and lost.

You know you’re doing it right when you ask some policemen how to get back to a certain part of town and they ask you, “Bus or taxi?”  You tell them you’re going to walk and they glance at you, then at each other, then say in a serious tone, “Well, will be hard…”


I went in here and bought some drum sticks.  They cost about what they would have cost in America.  I may not have any drums right now, but rudiments are the same in Polish and I can still practice them on any hard surface. 



A job is a job, anywhere in the world.


I respect those trousers.


I hope if they ever make a statue of me, I’ll be leaning to one side,  because that IS how people actually stand.


This old guy emerged from this mauseleum-like building in the park and looked around like he was waiting for someone.


I said dzień dobry and he replied in kind, then kept looking around.


No-one ever came. He walked away.


The light is glaring over it, but it says something like “No. 1 Americanskie show!” Sigh. Real proud of my home country’s image abroad.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Wing Commander Norbert D. Beaver (ret.) permalink
    August 30, 2012 9:34 pm

    Now that’s a pair of trousers. My first thought as my eyes lit upon the gentleman – ‘There goes a fellow European’.

    What does ‘UWAGA’ mean? It sounds like a word I should definitely use regularly.

  2. david jewell permalink
    August 30, 2012 11:03 pm

    your photos keep getting better and better!

    • August 31, 2012 7:54 am

      Gosh, thanks. I think I’m just surrounded by interesting stuff. You need to come over here with your good camera and take some real pictures.

  3. August 31, 2012 12:59 am

    I love getting to put on my THAT-glasses and see the world. Awesome pics.

    • August 31, 2012 7:57 am

      Thanks, Carrie! You know, they have bicycles for rent here… I’ve thought about it. But I could get lost farther and faster and I would probably crash and break my camera. And my head.

  4. August 31, 2012 5:43 am

    Use your words.

Leave a Reply

