Skip to content

Just A Bit Of Structure

August 31, 2012

There are a few organizing principles in my life.  One is drinking coffee in the morning; another is playing my guitar.  Then of course, one has to have clean clothes.  One must eat.  I like to write down what I did during the day.

Other than that, I tend to keep things pretty loose.  My idea of traveling is more like what most folks would call wandering.  Still, a bit of a routine is beginning to emerge during my week in Warszawa.  In the morning, I hand-wash the one change of clothes I brought with me, and hang them out to dry in the window.  Then I sit on the sill and play my guitar for a while, looking down on the street, sipping my coffee.

This could be me, anywhere in the world, really.

There are a few people staying in the hostel now, not many, but a couple.  The other night there was an elderly man, who stayed for one night only.  I was playing my guitar in the commons and he came in and sat down.  We nodded and smiled at each other.  He stayed there, quietly attentive, until I got ready for bed.  (It was the exact opposite of my experience with the accordionist in the Czech pub.)  The next morning, he gestured to me that he was leaving, and I said, “Well, happy trails.”  His face lit up and he grasped my extended hand in both of his hands.  “Yes!”  he exclaimed,  “Happy, yes!”

Well, yesterday I just wandered around for hours; today I decided to pick some destinations.  So I searched for vegan restaurants in Warszawa and found that there are quite a few.  I picked the first one at random, plugged it into google maps… and it’s 450 meters from my hostel.  That was easy.   After that, I’m going to head over to the national Museum to see some medieval art.

I found a bookstore with a phrasebook in it and I’ve been working on the little all-purpose words that people use all the time, the words for yes, no, please, etc.  So far, so good.  People can tell I’m attempting to speak their language, which is more than I could say when I was in China.

So that’s my plan for today.  I’m going to go look at some stuff and practice saying hello.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Katie Morrison permalink
    August 31, 2012 1:32 pm

    Nice! I am so glad you took a guitar. It’s so grounding. By the way, I am now seeing the old skinny Dave again. It’s great! I am skinny again, too. Do you think about the differences in your mental health and life choices sometimes, in reflection of the physical form/it’s cycles and changes?And how regular exercise staves off depression?
    I do. Life is so different when the body is so different. Well, look at you.
    Love, YerSis©®

    • August 31, 2012 1:49 pm

      I find that I’m only jolly when I’m fat. 🙂

      Seriously tho. I’m glad you both are thinning up. I’m trying with limited success.

      • August 31, 2012 5:16 pm

        I think you’ve had tremendous success, given the fact that you refuse to count calories.

    • August 31, 2012 5:15 pm

      I think that my weight loss is correlated with an improvement in mood for sure, but I can’t say that one caused the other. I do agree that exercise is great for mood all around, but I think that effect is only available when you’re well above the baseline of depression. A clinically depressed person gets no benefit from exercise. I definitely plan to join a gym in Zory. I’m glad you’re slimming down, too! I’ve been fat and I’ve been thin… thin is better.

  2. Norbington Bevoir permalink
    August 31, 2012 1:40 pm

    What is travelling if not just wandering at speed?

    Oh, never mind I just looked it up. Still, I prefer to experience the world at my own speed too. One day I shall wander as far and wide as you have.

    • August 31, 2012 5:17 pm

      I wish I had an EU passport, I can tell you. I didn’t start wandering until I was well into my 40s, so don’t feel like it’s ever too late.

  3. eroslane permalink
    August 31, 2012 2:02 pm

    Happy. Happy!!

    When you started your new life in Europe, I thought of the song by Roy Rogers, “Happy Trails”, and all the new people you will be meeting. Needless to say, it thrilled me in an odd way to see you connect with the elderly man.

    Happy trails to you. Happy trails to us all!

    • August 31, 2012 5:20 pm

      I think we both value these passing intimacies with strangers; we’ve both written about them.

      BTW, I pad full price for a new book today: The Prague Cemetery by Umberto Eco. It seemed like exactly what I need to read. I thought you’d approve.

Leave a Reply

