Skip to content

Suddenly Intolerable Footwear

September 1, 2012

Have you ever suddenly realized that you hate the shoes you are wearing?

One minute, I’m walking along, dimly annoyed in the back of my mind by the sense that my heels have too much room and are sort of banging around, like unsecured suitcases in the rear of a station wagon, and the next… I can’t stand to take one more step in these bastards.

I had a pair of shoes I liked perfectly well, some Ocean Pacific canvas loafers.  I left them drying in the sun on a balcony in Prague, six days ago.

I found another used clothes shop here in Warszawa, just like the one in Rybnik, (Tania Odzież: Cheap Clothes), and I stopped in there earlier today, but they didn’t have anything in my size that wasn’t leather.

After lunch, poking around online, I got very excited, because there is a skate shop right around the corner; I figured they must have Vans canvas loafers, my favorite shoes in the world.  (I’ve seen kids wearing them here.)  But when I got there, they were closing.  (Shops close earlier here, especially on Saturdays.)  And, peering in the window, I could see that all they had was t-shirts and caps, anyway.  Harrumph.  That is not a skate shop.

So I headed back to Tania Odzież, resigned to buy leather shoes if I had to.  Just get me out of these sons of bitches that are ruining my holiday, making me feel like a cranky old curmudgeon.  It was closed, of course.

So I’m not exactly what you’d call a Zen master in this situation, able to set aside the vain graspings of the mind and accept that which frustrates me.  I really hate these shoes and I will probably not do much walking tonight, even though it is my last night in Warszawa.  The best I can do is be honest about it.  That’s the extent of my spiritual serenity.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2012 4:04 pm

    Those your new footware that look so hip? Too bad, Dave. Things shut down there on Saturday, or just the places you need? Did you try triple socks…or double, if that’s all you have.

    • September 1, 2012 6:29 pm

      I thought about stuffing socks back in there, but it would be too hot. I’m jut trying to accept it. I’ll get some new shoes on Monday.

  2. September 1, 2012 5:09 pm

    ohmagod. shoes.

  3. Elizabeth permalink
    September 1, 2012 5:41 pm

    Fashion is mostly pain. It’s the shoes that create the agonized look on runway models’ faces. Well, that and the hunger…..probably from not being able to walk far enough to get to the grocery store…… I remember mailing go-go boots back to Austin from NY when I realized those boots would NOT be a walkin….

    • September 1, 2012 6:31 pm

      I know I’m a wuss compared to what women undergo in the shoe arena. The women around here are all striding along in towering constructions that give me a charly horse just looking at them.

      • September 1, 2012 8:34 pm

        At least you don’t have to wear a bra. If you keep whining about your shoes, though…

  4. Wayne B. Matlock permalink
    September 5, 2012 7:31 am

    David, this is great blogging. I get a good sense of your time. I have a similar reaction to the great masters portraits. They are so deeply felt, aren’t they? The art is overwhelming. I still count my day at the Prado as one of the very greatest events in my year in Spain.
    wayne

    • September 5, 2012 11:11 am

      At last, Wayne joins the party! That makes me happy.

      Yes, the great portrait painters… just YES. Incidentally, some of my peak experiences gazing at paintings were at the Harry Ransom Center. There’s a Thomas Hart Benton I will never forget, despite my very poor visual memory.

      And also Oilfield Girls, by Don Graham:

      I’m going to find out where they keep the Bosch paintings around here and go see them. And just like that, a reason for living.

      • September 9, 2012 3:08 am

        Well, you saw I still have this one in the now-empty ‘Dave staging area’ den. I really will get it professionally framed. I remember that trip to the HRC.

    • September 8, 2012 10:36 pm

      Ah, I see it’s at the Prado. I think now that I remember you telling me you saw it there. Kind of far from Poland. Could be a while before I get down there.

Leave a Reply

