Skip to content

Żory: Making Connections

September 4, 2012

Well, I got out of Warszawa and made it to my new home.  Had no problems with the train, but then I didn’t have to make any connections.  Still, I got on the right one and I can find my car and my seat now.  I was even able to perform these tasks in a state of extreme sleep deprivation brought on by the all-night party crowd.  They were truly noxious.  I gave up trying to sleep, took a shower at 4:00 a.m. and headed to the train station, where I lightly dozed in a comfy chair in Starbucks, until my train left at 8:45.

So I’m in my new hometown, getting settled.  The last few days I haven’t had internet access at home. I’m staying in a sort of extended stay hotel, about 2 km from the school. It’s not a far walk, but I really do not understand the layout of the town. There are lots of ring roads and roundabouts and very few street signs. I’m hoping tonight I will finally be able to get home without getting lost.

Tomorrow I move into a permanent place, a little apartment that is almost next door to the school. I’m very excited about having my own place, so close to the school, right in the old part of town that I like best. I’ve been sharing the hotel room with a guy I have almost never meet; our only exchange has been to say “hi,” in the dark. (He comes and goes at almost opposite hours to me.)

This leg of the journey is about logistics and integrating into the new environment; presenting myself well, getting off on the right foot with people, sussing out the social norms. I’ve been training in their teaching method, learning about the paperwork, observing lessons, things like that. Haven’t heard anything about the work permit yet, but hopefully soon. I have had a chance to hit the pubs with coworkers a bit. Everyone has been very welcoming and helpful.

And then there’s going to the grocery store, figuring out how to get my clothes cleaned, etc. I bought a Polish sim card for my phone and it works fine here. I’m going to buy one of those wonderful little electric kettles. I need an iron and an ironing board.

Looks like I should probably get a haircut, too.

I will have wifi in my new place, so after I get moved in, I’ll take some pictures and do some writing. Probably on the weekend. Right now I’m busy being responsible.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Nohorbert Beheaver permalink
    September 4, 2012 6:10 pm

    If you only ever see the guy in the dark, how do you know it’s the same guy each time? There’s nothing else for it, you have to secretly paint a stripe onto his head with glow in the dark paint to see if it’s the same person who keeps coming back. It’s literally the only way.

    I also love the thought of finding somebody asleep in Starbucks. I bet they sold a lot of double espressos and extra shots that morning.

    • September 5, 2012 11:15 am

      With my facial recognition skills, I could be seeing simulacra all day long. I would go crazy if I started thinking about it.

      I wasn’t the only one dozing off in the Warszava train station Starbucks. I think what they really sell there is soft furniture. The drink is the rent on the chair.

  2. September 4, 2012 8:10 pm

    Have scissors; will travel. Wait. You need it right now. Yep. And a beard trim, too. Iron and board. Oy. Suggest distilled water for the iron or it corrodes. Is your new place partially furnished? Hope you don’t need kitchen stuff from scratch. Happy pubbing; looks like a social staff from looking at some fb albums. So so happy for you. Mom

    • September 5, 2012 11:17 am

      Thanks, mom. It’s got a bed and a few odds and ends, but I am going to have to buy a few kitchen things. All that pales beside having a washing machine and free wifi. Don’t worry, I will continue to obsessively blog about all these little details.

  3. September 5, 2012 9:11 pm

    It’s about to become a normal life!!

    • September 5, 2012 9:15 pm

      Kind of. As normal as it can be when everyone is speaking a strange language.

      No, wait, it’s me that speaks the strange language. But I get paid to teach my strange language to the speakers of the not-strange/strange language.

      On second, thought… no. Not normal. But at least I don’t have to keep hauling my suitcase around.

Leave a Reply

