Skip to content

More Walking-Around Pictures

September 11, 2012

I got a nice call this morning from one of the owners of the school.  He reassured me that we will get this visa thing worked out and I will be teaching soon.  He told me I don’t need to stick around town this week; I can do a little traveling if I want to.  I’m thinking about it, but I’m still kind of content just to explore Żory while it’s good walking weather.  You never know, I might take a wild hair and head out in the morning, but probably not.

In other words, I took a walk today.


↑ I know not why there is a dinosaur with lipstick guarding the fire extinguisher by the front door to my building.


↑ I passed a shop that sells used bicycles today and I was very tempted to get this nifty vintage European single-speed. I may have to go back.


↑ The front of the train station.


↑ The platform.  This looks to me just like Stop and  Listen Blues No. 2  by the Mississippi Sheiks sounds.


↑ And this is where you… buy a ticket? Apparently not anymore. There were people waiting for a train, so there must be some way to arrange it. I just bet it involves knowing how to speak Polish, though.


↑ Oddly, the only thing that was open was what in America we would call a bait and tackle shop. I’m not sure what the connection is to rail travel.


↑ I walked along the railroad tracks a few kilometers, something I’ve enjoyed doing since I was a kid


↑ Sometimes garbage is oddly compelling.


↑ This is how pedestrians get across the freeway in the southwest part of town.


↑ I like this a lot. I wish less talented taggers would not deface the work of their betters, though.


↑ This is one of my very favorites.


↑ Much of the freeway has sound baffling, which is very nice for those who live by it.


↑ I almost took this path less traveled. I don’t think I could get lost in Żory anymore, if I tried, but I was getting hungry and wanted to get home and eat some tacos with weird Polish hot sauce.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. shawn abbott permalink
    September 11, 2012 7:08 pm

    i think the bike might be a good idea.

  2. No r Bert Be a ver permalink
    September 11, 2012 10:16 pm

    Wait for it…

    …wait…

    …here it comes…

    …Fire-annosaurus Rex-tinguisher!

    *jazz hands*

    We have those subway tunnels in my neighbourhood too, though your graffiti is way better. Ours is just body parts and swear words.

    • September 11, 2012 10:23 pm

      Slow clap. Well played, sir, well played.

      The better the wordplay, of course, the more reluctant the acknowledgment.

    • September 12, 2012 3:38 am

      you didn’t have me until “jazz hands.”

      • No r Bert Be a ver permalink
        September 12, 2012 9:29 am

        I wasn’t sure the joke was clever enough, so I decided to go Vegas at the end.

    • October 12, 2012 5:43 pm

      I took me several weeks, but I’ve got one for the lipsticked dinosaur. Are you ready?

      You’re sure?











      (…)

      TRANNYsaurus.

      Thank you. I’ll be here all week.

      • norbertbeaver permalink
        October 12, 2012 6:01 pm

        :oD

        I can’t think of a better one than that, and believe me I’ve been trying for nearly a quarter of an hour now. I love the thought of you passing that every day and dedicating a few moments to thinking up a clever name.

      • October 12, 2012 6:03 pm

        At this rate, I should have my routine ready for open mic at the comedy club… right about the same time the sun burns out.

      • norbertbeaver permalink
        October 12, 2012 6:02 pm

        *quarter of an hour.

        I don’t know when it started, but I keep missing entire words out of sentences. Several in this case.

      • October 12, 2012 6:06 pm

        Weirdly, wordpress allows me to edit other people’s comments. That’s a lot of power. But I will use it only for good. I have corrected your pronouncement to align it with your intended meaning. Plus I fixed it.

  3. September 12, 2012 3:39 am

    Sorry about the Visa. It will come. Try to get a gig or something.

    • September 12, 2012 8:39 am

      It’s probably only a few more days. I have been playing my guitar, but I’m not sure where I would look for a gig here. Eventually I will.

  4. September 12, 2012 11:38 pm

    So many interesting places to visit, so complicated figuring out how to get there. Aye aye aye.

    • September 13, 2012 9:29 am

      It’s not that bad after you’ve been here for a while. I mean, in town. Learning the regional transport, like how to get to Ostrava or Raciborz, that will be the next level.

  5. Louis permalink
    September 15, 2012 9:45 pm

    I remember when you announced a while back that your correspondents should not expect to see many photos from you.

    What does “Tania” mean? I wonder if that is where we got the name “Tanya” in the U.S.

    • September 15, 2012 11:37 pm

      Well. I guess I gave in to the visual nature of the medium. Tania means cheap. Odziez means clothing.

Leave a Reply

