Skip to content

I Seek Official Sanction

September 17, 2012

My work permit arrived at the school today, so I’m off to Prague.  I’ll take the minibus to Katowice, where I’ll get on the train.  I switch trains in Ostrava, which shouldn’t be too tricky.   I know exactly where to go in Prague.

I think I have everything in order, all my documents, my visa photos.  I may have to buy insurance, but I’m not going to do it until an official tells me I must.

Well, then, I’m off.

UPDATE: I missed my connection in Katowice by about 5 minutes, so I have to cool my heels until midnight.  The direct train to Prague cost 251 PLN… ouch!

I wandered around Katowice for several hours and took pictures.  It’s a bit rough around the edges, but oddly, there are almost no bars, at least in the center of town, near the train station.  I finally found a place where I could have a couple of beers, but I began to feel less than comfortable in there, so now I’m at the old 24 hour internet cafe in the train station.

I finished Umberto Eco’s The Prague Cemetery and started reading Perfume by Patrick Süskind, but it’s starting to creep me out so much that I need to put it down for a bit.  It’s weird that the next novel that someone handed me is also about a monstrous psychopath, who happens to be a connoisseur, set in historical Paris, though Perfume is set a century earlier.  I’ve always distrusted connoisseurs.  These books aren’t helping.

I’ve got another hour to kill.  Guess I’ll play some internet chess.  I’ll be on a sleeper car, but I doubt I’ll get much sleep.  I expect I’ll be pretty bedraggled when I lurch off the train tomorrow morning at 6.45.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. shawn abbott permalink
    September 17, 2012 4:49 pm

    good luck!

    • September 17, 2012 8:01 pm

      Thank you. Hopefully missing the first train will fulfill my quota for snaggles on this trip.

      Oh, who am I kidding? The thing is just to resolve to get through them, whatever they are.

      • shawn abbott permalink
        September 18, 2012 12:38 pm

        I’m a friend of your mom’s, thru Madonna in Wimberley. I sometimes go on adventurous scuba diving trips, but come home to Austin. You are brave to pick up an go!!

      • September 18, 2012 1:43 pm

        Hi Shawn. Pleased to meet you. I’m glad you like to share in my adventures. I have few responsibilities, especially in the family way, so I can go off on a lark. Like the old song says, “When you ain’t got nothing, you ain’t got nothing to lose.” It’s a lifestyle that suits me, but it’s not for everybody. Somebody’s gotta be responsible and land those jets and raise those kids.

  2. September 17, 2012 8:51 pm

    Ouch. You sleep so soundly in the a.m., sure hope you wake up for Prague. A mother can think ’em up, can’t I.

    • September 19, 2012 5:49 pm

      Well, I didn’t sleep, so I never had to wake up. There you go, nothing to worry about, see?

      But seriously, I rarely oversleep when I have something important lo do in the morning; it keeps my sleep light and I usually wake up too early.

  3. September 19, 2012 5:35 pm

    I’m working on an epic post about this trip, with more fine-grained detail than Marcel Proust would have dared, but in the meantime, I’ll just say that it turns out I didn’t get a sleeper car, and unfortunately, your formula fails to align with the facts of my case, as I had a normal seat but didn’t sleep as much as I would have if, say, Ron Paul ad been reading from Ayn Rand. Wait, that would have been a solid night’s sleep, I got my metaphors crossed.

    I didn’t sleep much.

    (Looks like my papers will be ready tomorrow. Can’t imagine what could go wrong, but then, I don’t have the mind of god.)

Leave a Reply

