Skip to content

One Last Time To Prague + Goodies From Home!

September 24, 2012

Well, I had a very nice surprise today: my mother’s care package arrived at the school!  Go, mom!

Oh, boy, what’s in here?!

Yes yes yes yes yes please.

  • My beloved Sundance Film Festival jacket, vest, cap, and scarf.  They kept me warm in the mountains of Utah in the winter of 2008, they will do just fine for Poland.  She even mended a tear!
  • Sheets for my bed.  Yes, I could have bought sheets, but I like these sheets from home.
  • Hot spices, including some chili powder!  As a child of the Texas/Mexico border, I like every meal to register high enough on the Scoville scale to help me attain an altered state of consciousness.  This puts me rather at odds with Polish cuisine.
  • Books!  In the English language I love so well, no less.
  • A Melitta coffee cone, some paper filters and a reusable filter. For some reason, I don’t like coffee machines.  They violate my minimalist aesthetic.  I’ve always liked the one-cup Melitta system.  Goodbye, instant coffee!  My standard of living is about to rise in one of the few areas that matters to me.
  • (Not pictured) All my cold and allergy medicines were tucked into a pocket.  That will be very handy, next time I get a bit of a cold.  It took me a while to figure out that, for instance, acetaminophen is called paracetamol over here.  And I still haven’t found any normal aspirin.  I’m sure it’s right there on the shelf.

This wonderful bundle of motherly love smoothed out the news I got today that I can’t mail my passport… I have to go back to Prague in person one more time.  But there were other palliatives: Agnieszka had good rapport with the Consul, so I know everything is ready and will be easy, and there’s another English teacher in Rybnik who needs to go, too.  If she can get her papers in order, we can go together.  It would be very nice to feel like I could be of help to someone else here for a change, and traveling company would make the journey more fun.  I or we will probably leave on Sunday.  I would head back immediately Monday afternoon; she would have to stay a couple of days.

Feels like I’m getting over my cold.  My voice is coming back; I think it will last through my three lessons this evening.  Poor Helen was sick today and I could not cover her lessons, much as I would have liked to; I’m quite sure my voice would not have held out.  We’re kind of working without a net here; the school is so small that there are a limited number of ways to cover shifts when someone gets sick.

UPDATE: It was really kind of my first day at work.  I made it through three lessons today, with my voice just starting to give way at the end of the last one.  I would have had four but one cancelled; I misread the schedule and was late for one lesson.  I hate that.  But the others went fine.    Definitely going to Prague on Sunday.  I’ll miss Monday’s lessons only and be back at work Tuesday, just as legal and legit as the day is long.  Right as rain, what ho.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. norbertbeaver permalink
    September 24, 2012 5:12 pm

    Wow, now THAT is how you make a package! I’m impressed by both the contents and the construction, I have a feeling that your Mom would get awesome packaging feedback on eBay.

    I like your approach to hot food, though personally I draw the line when food becomes painful. When it gets so hot that it actually bends reality I know I’d better have a glass of milk standing by. Of course I am English, so anything spicier than flour does that. Milk included.

    • September 24, 2012 8:33 pm

      I think mom would be good at Tetris, but I can’t in good conscience introduce anyone to that game because it’s like shortening their life by several hundred hours. No-one can resist its pull.

      I know Londoners love their curry. Is that big up north, too? You’re quite right that dairy, not water, is the remedy to have at hand. That’s why real Indian food comes with a side of raita, which is mostly yogurt. The hottest curries I ever ate were made by a Scottish friend of mine who learned to cook in London.

      • norbertbeaver permalink
        September 25, 2012 9:26 am

        Joking aside I’m right next to Bradford, which is one of the best places in the country to get a decent curry. Officially! It’s the reigning Curry Capital of Britain, which apparently is a real award. I’ve suffered many a sore evening pouring ice water into my mouth in that place.
        If you go further up north, there’s a restaurant in Newcastle called the Rupali (http://therupali.co.uk) which boasts the hottest curry in the world. I don’t know if that’s true and I’m very unlikely to ever find out, but it might just be like a mild seasoning to you hardened spice fans.

        The only thing I know for sure is that soya milk is almost useless at killing the heat.

        I knew Tetris was addictive when my Dad stole the Gameboy I got for Christmas when I was 10. It took us getting a second Gameboy before I got it back full time and could continue Duck Tales in peace.

  2. September 25, 2012 12:03 am

    Feelin’ the love! Mom

  3. Stacy Hightower permalink
    September 25, 2012 12:34 am

    What ages do you teach Dave?

    • October 12, 2012 5:22 pm

      I teach mostly adults, but I have taught a few teenagers. I taught kids for 20 years and, though I love kids, I am thoroughly enjoying teaching adults. Especially adults who are so motivated to learn that they pay money and come to class of their own accord.

  4. October 12, 2012 12:58 pm

    Awesome Mom, as usual 🙂 We need your new address, too.

  5. October 12, 2012 1:00 pm

    And the REAL coffee – YAY !!! I like french presses, myself, but I still don’t have one.

    • October 12, 2012 5:25 pm

      Good espresso through a Melitta filter is definitely upping the luxury factor in my morning routine. I like French presses, too, but that’s too much fussiness in the prep dept. for me.

Leave a Reply

