Skip to content

How Do You Say “Lackadaisical Scrivener” In Polish?

November 17, 2012

Dear me, has it really been three weeks since I’ve updated?  Since then we’ve had the Halloween party and my birthday.  I’m up to a full teaching schedule now, around 25 classes a week.

I find it hard to write when I am in one place.  The past few weeks have been about getting settled into work, learning my way around town, and a lot of socializing.

My birthday: me, Jim & Erin.  I love me some quirky expats.  Definitely my kind of people.

I believe in this picture one can see why I find Poland so appealing.

Halloween, with Scott, one of the owners of CONNECT English. As you can see, we’re a very starchy and uptight organization.

I’ve been studying Polish.  Perhaps not with what one might call ferocious intensity, but I keep chipping away at it.  I have had a few successful exchanges now in restaurants, at the bank, at the market.  I’m not a particularly talented language learner, but I am beginning to think I might acquire enough to help me in common situations.

Speaking of Polish, my friend Stuart—a fellow El Pasoan, who I first met playing music in Austin in the 80s—has an excellent blog on the subject: Stuart’s Polish Language Learning Blog.  Check it out.  He’s so way ahead of me it’s not funny, but I still find it very interesting.

This weekend I’m heading to Wrocław with a group of friends.  I hope to eat in a vegan restaurant which is right by the hostel.  Other than that, I’ll probably just do my patented wandering-around routine.   I will take pictures and I will write.  New places rev me up that way.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Sibyl White permalink
    November 17, 2012 11:19 pm

    This is a travel blog, so to speak, no? Traveling back and forth to work really doesn’t count. When you start moving around, then your fans will be demanding of pics and stuff. In the meantime, keep on with your stated goals of being a good teacher. We understand.

    • November 20, 2012 7:49 pm

      Thank you, that’s most supportive. I’m working up an entry on the trip to Wrocław last weekend.

  2. norbertbeaver permalink
    November 20, 2012 1:43 pm

    If this were a video game there would be a cheat code that would enable you to just know the entire Polish language. Of course that would also put you out of business, but on the other hand there would be little gold rings everywhere that you could collect if you could beat the hedgehogs to them. I’m not sure what my point is.

    I like how your friend Scott is dressed up like Dave Hill from Slade, not enough people go for that look in my opinion. Except for here in England where everybody looks like that, but I meant in other places.

    • November 20, 2012 7:55 pm

      Why, if that’s really true, perhaps I ought to consider breaching your fair shores and to take up cosmetic dentistry. You never exaggerate, do you? Of course you don’t,

      This has been an example of what I consider career research.

    • January 4, 2013 2:39 pm

      Norbertbeaver is sweet and funny… I wonder what he looks like. I haven’t played a video game… (I guess really ever – hmm….unless you count watching other people play Sims, long ago, or stuff like pac man and pong..) Now have a clear visual of you and he running around Poland ( or England ?) picking up little gold rings everywhere you are; but I can’t quite imagine a face for N. Is he also a guitar player ? If so, I must add guitar cases into that visual.

      • January 4, 2013 3:46 pm

        Aren’t you his friend on lj?! He has the funniest journal, hands down. Find him through me.

        He’s a bad-ass bass player. He played some on The Elegant Gesture of the Drowned, so you’ve grooved to his funkitude without even knowing it. It is my sincere hope that one day I will have enough of a music career to offer him a spot on the bass.

      • January 12, 2013 9:24 pm

        Oh, you kids carry on talking about how awesome I am and I’ll just sit here pretending like I’m not here…

      • January 12, 2013 10:18 pm

        Well, I thought you had gone away there for a while. I was just fixing to email you. You’ve been mighty quiet here and on lj the last week or two.

      • January 13, 2013 4:13 pm

        Yeah, I haven’t been around much lately. To be honest yesterday was the first time I came online properly since before Christmas. Nothing is really happening or anything, but I’m sure you know how hard it is to find the will to get involved with the online world sometimes.

        Actually I’ve been following your example and have been more physically active, walking more and watching what I eat/drink. Some day soon in the not-too-distant future, I shall – oh, I shall – fit into my good pants once again.

      • January 14, 2013 12:21 am

        What ho? Real life? If memory serves, I approve. But seriously, moving the body about does wonders for the spirit. You’re a good, what. 15 years younger than me? You don’t have to wait until you’re nearly 50 to think about these things, like I was.

  3. December 3, 2012 11:18 am

    Catching up on my globularity!

    • January 4, 2013 3:47 pm

      Just looked at my year-end stats and you were my number one commenter. I’ll have some new stuff for you soon. Miss you..

  4. January 12, 2013 10:48 pm

    Ahh. I have a tender spot for bad-ass bassists. Highly under-rated imho. Yes, I remember the name from waaaaay back. But since I was only back to LJ for a week or two last spring, I don’t surf there.

    Note to self: surf there. And listen, some more.

Leave a Reply

