Skip to content

How Little Is Too Much?

December 21, 2012

I’m off on my holiday trip in a few hours.  Here is what I have to stuff in my pack… Will it all fit?  Long-time friends and blog readers know that I am obsessed with traveling as light as possible.  I rarely wish I had packed more; I more commonly wish I had packed less.

Since we’ll be gone 10 days, I packed 5 days’ worth of clothes, plus one to wear while I do laundry, which I guess will be at the hostel in Budapest.  I’ve made it possible to dress in several layers at all times.  Other than that, I’m trying to keep it to the bare minimum.  I am taking coffee, some sandwiches and breakfast foods; I guess those things are optional, but they’ll save time and money.  I’m taking the two books Widdop loaned me on L’viv, but only one novel, a big, fat Trollope.  I loaded a couple of Polish lessons onto my audio device.  I have a notebook for my journal, fiction writing and the little data collection I do every day in support of my diet and meditation practice.  There’s  the camera, of course, plus medicine, hygiene articles… don’t see how could I could go a while lot lighter for 10 days.

Well, I got it all in there.  Final weight: 7.3 kg/16.1 lbs.   I have one lesson to teach, then it’s off to Rybnik on the bus for a pint or two with Widdop.  We leave for Vienna tomorrow morning at 7:30.  No telling when I’ll post next, but I expect there will be web access in the hostels.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. December 21, 2012 4:38 pm

    I was reading a while back about one of the first hikers to completely finish the Appalachian Trail and took almost nothing along; just slept on the ground.

    • December 22, 2012 6:22 am

      The ground would be a bit chilly in Ukraine in the winter. 😛

      • December 25, 2012 5:42 am

        Yeah, not a good idea in winter, especially when there are hostels. Sounds like an awesome trip!

      • December 25, 2012 9:33 am

        Accomodation is actually the least expensive aspect of travel here, at least if, like me, you stay in the cheapest hostels you can find. If I were willing to bicycle or hitch-hike, I could travel for almost nothing.

  2. Hannah Rebecca permalink
    December 21, 2012 5:25 pm

    Have an amazing holiday! I look forward to writings and photos 🙂

    • December 22, 2012 6:23 am

      Roger that. The camera’s memory is cleared and its battery is charged.

  3. Julie Bratton permalink
    December 22, 2012 12:21 am

    I love it that your IBS tote bag made it all the way to Poland, and is even going on your trip with you. Have mucho fun.

    • December 22, 2012 6:24 am

      Those canvas totes are killer. They’re both from blind school conferences.

  4. December 22, 2012 3:40 pm

    If we don’t get a chance before, I hope you have a wonderful Christmas, Uncle David 🙂 I marvel at your packing skills; when I go to a sleepover at a friend’s house, it looks as if I’m staying for a few weeks. We miss you here in Denver, but love reading the chronicles of your adventures. I am incredibly proud of what you’re doing.

    Love,
    Claire

    • December 23, 2012 8:26 pm

      Thanks, Claire! I am very happy that you enojy reading about my adventures. One day we will be together at Christmas. I hope my blog shows you that it is easier than it seems to go do whatever you dream of doing. I wish I had known that earlier in life. Love, Uncle David.

  5. Sibyl White permalink
    December 23, 2012 1:48 am

    I think a bit of ‘socky’ fragrance is pretty cool–like garlic. I might add battery chargers for camera and MP3 player. Other than those, sweet. How many you are influencing to travel? Priceless. Love you. Mom

    • December 23, 2012 8:33 pm

      I did include the battery charger for the camera. And the ZOOM Q3 plays mp3s, though you have to press play for each new track. Things I should have packed: rain poncho, shampoo. It’s not unlike loading the Scamp. What do I need? What fits? I learned a few things about budget traveling from my mom. 🙂

      • December 23, 2012 9:46 pm

        Two of the easiest things to pick up anywhere. Just might have to get more shampoo than you need. Rain poncho that covers a backpack, that might be just a little trickier. You going to have to traipse around in the rain? Ugh.

  6. Louis Lopez permalink
    December 24, 2012 4:32 pm

    You didn’t mention packing your cellphone!

    Maybe that’s why i wasn’t able to get ahold of you yesterday. Will try again later.

    Happy Solstice and New Year.

    • December 24, 2012 6:24 pm

      I packed my cell phone but I am out of credits and probably won’t reload until Jan 2nd. Thanks, I’ll talk to you later.

Leave a Reply

